Oklahoma Motorcycle Helmet Laws
There are Oklahoma laws that apply only to motorcyclists, including helmet laws that mandate that you must wear a motorcycle helmet while riding. As a motorcyclist, you should know about all of these laws to not only stay safe while riding but also to avoid any legal issues that could end with you getting a citation.
If you have questions related to Oklahoma motorcycle helmet laws, or if you’ve been in an accident, contact a Tusla motorcycle accident lawyer at Aizenman Law Group to find out how we can help you.
A few keynotes for motorcycle laws, rules, and requirements in Oklahoma are:
- License or endorsement: As you do with any vehicle in Oklahoma, you need a motorcycle license to legally operate your motorcycle. The Oklahoma Department of Public Safety (DPS) can help you get your license if you do not have one. Motorcycle licenses are restricted to only people who are 16 or older, but permits can be given to teens under the age of 16. If you have a driver’s license for a passenger vehicle, then you can more easily get permission to ride your motorcycle through an endorsement.
- Applications and tests: When you apply for your motorcycle license, you will need to have some form of identification recognized by the DPS. Birth certificates, passports, military IDs, and even Social Security numbers are among the most commonly used forms of ID. If your application is accepted, then you will need to pass several tests, including a written test and an aptitude test that proves you can safely control your motorcycle.
- Invalid or no license: If you ride your motorcycle without a license recognized by Oklahoma, then you can be fined several hundred dollars as an initial penalty. Continuing to ride without a license can result in increased fines and potential jail time, though.
- Motorcycle design: In Oklahoma, motorcycles are required to have two rear-view mirrors, fenders over all wheels, a speedometer, a horn, a muffler, a headlight, and a taillight. Your motorcycle should have a windscreen to protect you from flying debris, too. If there is no windscreen, then you must wear some sort of eye protection while riding.
- Vehicle volume: Oklahoma does not prohibit you from riding a motorcycle that is “too loud.” Although, you cannot intentionally modify your motorcycle’s muffler to make it louder than before.
- Passenger requirements: To ride with a passenger on your motorcycle, you must be at least 16 years of age, and your motorcycle must have 12-inch diameter wheels – or larger – as well as a double-seating set-up that allows for footrests. Without a double seat, a sidecar specifically made for passengers is needed.
- Insurance limits: You can only lawfully ride a motorcycle in Oklahoma if you are currently covered by an insurance policy that meets or exceeds the state’s minimum insurance requirements. Your coverage must provide at least $25,000 for bodily injury per person, $50,000 for bodily injury per accident or all people affected, and $25,000 for property damage.
Do You Have to Wear a Helmet on a Motorcycle in Oklahoma?
Are you required to wear a helmet whenever you ride a motorcycle in Oklahoma? The answer is no for most riders. If you are 18 or older, then you can choose to ride a motorcycle without a helmet as long as you also wear eye protection.
Of course, you should wear a helmet whenever you ride just for your own health and safety. Helmet use has consistently proven to be instrumental in preventing permanent brain injuries in motorcycle accidents. Reach out to a personal injury lawyer.